24 Solar Terms listed as UNESCO's Intangible Cultural Heritage


China’s “24 solar terms” was added to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization’s (UNESCO) world intangible cultural heritage list on 11 November, 2016.

This announcement was made during the 11th session of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritages held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia’s capital. The five-day session ended on 2nd December 2016.

China’s “24 Solar terms” is a knowledge system and social practice formed through observations of the sun’s annual motion, and cognition of the year’s changes in season, climate and phenology. The 24 terms include Start of Spring, Rain Water, Awakening of Insects, Spring Equinox, Clear and Bright, Grain Rain, Start of Summer, Grain Buds, Grain in Ear, Summer Solstice, Minor Heat, Major Heat, Start of Autumn, End of Heat, White Dew, Autumn Equinox, Cold Dew, Frost's Descent, Start of Winter, Minor Snow, Major Snow, Winter Solstice, Minor Cold and Major Cold.